Skip to content

Who We Are:

STEP is led by committee and staffed with educators and professionals throughout the program. Our members fall into either our committee or instructors and you can see both below.

Committee

The STEP program is administered by a committee which includes educators and seed professionals from various industries.

Current Members:

Rick Novak, Director, Colorado Seed Programs and Manager, Colorado Seed Growers Association
Colorado State University
970-491-6202
rick.novak@colostate.edu

Jim Bruce
(c ) 970-219-5402 (h) 970-484-5527
ristvin_jrb@yahoo.com

Randy Crowl, Manager Seed Lab
Colorado State University
Department of Soil and Crop Sciences
970-491-6406
randy.crowl@colostate.edu

Arnold Larsen, Emeritus
Colorado State University
Department of Soil and Crop Sciences
970-377-9697
allarsen@q.com

Loren Wiesner, Emeritus
National Center for Genetic Resources Preservation
970-587-8775
lwiesner@colostate.edu

Gene Milstein
Applewood Seed Company
Representative for the Colorado Seed Industry
a.m. 303-526-9165
p.m. 303-431-7333
gmilstein@applewoodseed.com

Joel Hoornbeck
Computer Outfitters
PO Box 1191
Wellington, CO 80549
classicsmiley@gmail.com

John R. Mizicko, President
Eurofins STA Laboratories
1821 Vista View Dr.
Longmont, CO 80504
303-651-6417 (Office)
408-201-2516 (Mobile)
JohnMizicko@eurofinsus.com

Roger Levy
625 Park River Place
Estes Park, CO  80517
rdlevy65@gmail.com

Gil Waibel, RST
Native Seed Program Director
Indiana Crop Improvement Association
7700 Stockwell Road
Lafayette, IN 47909
c: 307-254-2526
p: 765.523.2535 x114
tf: 866.899.2518
f: 765.523.2536
email waibel@indianacrop.org

Jim Klett
Landscape Horticulture, Ornamentals, and Nursery Management
219 Shepardson
970-491-7179
email: jim.klett@colostate.edu

Steve Newman
Greenhouse Crops and Stress Physiology
113A Shepardson
970-491-7118
email: steven.newman@colostate.edu

Instructors

Our instructors come from many different backgrounds and bring their experiences with them to the classroom.

Current Instructor Roster:

SOCR 200 – Seed Anatomy and Identification
Instructor:  Randy Crowl – randy.crowl@colostate.edu

SOCR 201 – Seed Development and Metabolism
Instructor:  Roger Levy – relevy65@gmail.com

SOCR 300 – Seed Purity Analysis
Instructor:  Jim Bruce – ristvin-jrb@yahoo.com

SOCR 301 – Seed Germination and Viability
Instructor:  Jim Bruce – ristvin-jrb@yahoo.com

SOCR 311 – Seed Quality: Seed Production and Genetics
Instructor: Roger Levy – rdlevy65@gmail.com

SOCR 410 – Seed Processes: Storage and Deterioration
Instructor: Roger Levy – relevy65@gmail.com

SOCR 413 – Seed Vigor Concepts and Testing
Instructor:  Randy Crowl – randy.crowl@colostate.edu

Contact CSU Equal Opportunity Privacy Statement Disclaimer

2018 Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado 80523 USA